falling with grace…

Today, I got up at 6:15am and went back to sleep awaiting the alarm to go off.  At 6:25 I decided to check it and see how much more sleep I had to go, and wow, I forgot to set the time for my run! Every step was indecision this morning.  My clothes, I was stressed cause my pants were tight and my shirt was wrinkled and everything was just getting on my nerves. I forgot my wedding ring so I had to go back and get it and got to the track late at about 7:15.  I felt like I was a whiny little kid again, dragging my feet every step along the way, you know the toe drag, the one that used to mess up your shoes when you were little.  Yeah that was me this morning.  But I walked on to the track anyhow.  Little did I know the battle that was about to take place! Every step was heavy, every breath forced and not only my body but my mind was all over the place! Ugh I wanted to just run off the track into my car and never come back!  But I cast down the thoughts, although they kept coming back!

For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal but mighty in God for pulling down strongholds, casting down arguments and every high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of God, bringing every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ, – 2 Corinthians 10:4-5

And then I remembered the barbecue food I had eaten yesterday, all the cans of soda I drank, the yummy golden OREOS.  The food that was supposed to turn into fuel in my body was WORKING AGAINST ME! And then I remembered the hilariously funny movie that I watched yesterday that wasn’t exactly censored, the curse words that I had just ignored because of the funny parts of the movie. Um yup, open door to my mind so I was battling in my mind! So the demons of what I had done this weekend came back to haunt me Monday morning on the track field!!  And I then I got out my WORD!  I reminded myself what God’s Word says about me, that I’m MORE THAN AN OVERCOMER in Christ Jesus.

37 Yet in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us. – Romans 8:37

That means that I’ve ALREADY OVER COME the track field.  Did that, check.  And I’m MORE than even just that.  And that one word is HUGE.  But I’m MORE THAN THAT.  And my legs might have forgotten it, but I reminded them.  My body had to be reminded this morning who GOD SAYS I AM.  Not who I used to be!!  Yes I was never ALL STAR at TRACK.  Yes, I was never ALL STAR at anything, because the old me hated sports.  BUT THAT WAS BEFORE JESUS!  When he died on the cross for me, in that moment, breaking the chasm of time, all that I was before DIED too! And I became new, washed fresh and clean.  No longer just a marathon shopper, my body COULD AND WOULD handle more than that!  No longer was I going to go through lethargy.  NO MORE! I was going to walk, I was going to RUN! I was FREE! And I had been given authority in Christ Jesus to trample the heads of serpents and scorpions and so every step was that – exorcising the demons of my weekend of gluttony and indulgence.

19 Behold, I have given you authority to tread on serpents and scorpions, and over all the power of the enemy, and nothing shall hurt you. – Luke 10:19

Leave a Reply

