Revelations over the bubbles in the sink…

So any of those who know me, pretty much know how much I’ve struggled to be that Proverbs 31 wife and mother.  Proverbs 31 always seemed like this amazingly unattainable goal.  Was she even real anyway or was she just a fairy tale?  But how could I even question if she was a fairy tale? She could be a picture of so many mothers!  Well maybe not today, but 20 years ago, yes.  30/40 years ago definitely she may have been any woman.  And every time I look at my mother in law, I see Proverbs 31 breathed all over her as she cooks, cleans, does, and does more.

But what’s happened over the past few decades?  Why do we even question whether Proverbs 31 is a fairytale?  I’m not sure, but I do know that over time we’ve become much more SELF involved.  Much more demanding of SELF gratification and our own needs.  When did it all happen though?  When did our SELVES become so much more important than those around us? Even our own children?  We see it in the news every day, mothers being charged with abuse, neglect.  Or just being too busy wrapped up in their own worlds to be there for their children.  

But amazingly enough, this was me.  Just a little over 3 years ago, I was that woman, so involved in my career that my husband, children, the world was going to wait for me and my needs to be met first.  But that was until GOD got a hold of me. When I was laid off from my job, my world fell apart, but JESUS came and helped me pick up the pieces.  I was lost, broken and now I’m found and healed.  I’m still a work in progress, so far from perfect but it’s okay because I carry Jesus’ perfection in my heart with me every day, there’s no need for me to strive for perfection when it’s something He attained for me…

So today, I’m just sitting reflecting on how work in the house, cleaning, laundry was such a stretch for me then, but today wow! I seek him in the midst of it all and oh but HE SPEAKS to me! He speaks to me clearly as my arms are elbow deep in suds in the kitchen.  I hear His voice as I scrub the tub and as I’m folding the laundry.  And I put HIM first. I don’t want my own needs filled first anymore.  I want to fill HIS needs first.  and so I put my self-serving ways down and I pick up a towel and walk, and in comes His JOY, His LOVE, His Peace.  

So that’s it for now, I’m off to go seek that one-on-one time in His presence while I clean the bathroom, do the floors, and laundry.  Thank you Lord!

Leave a Reply

